The Scoffers. Protect Yourself.

Scoffer – someone who jeers or mocks or treats something with contempt or calls out in derision.

I admit, I used to be one of those people in regards to Christians…

2 Peter 3:3-4

Knowing this first of all, that scoffers will come in the last days with scoffing, following their own sinful desires. They will say, “Where is the promise of his coming? For ever since the fathers fell asleep, all things are continuing as they were from the beginning of creation.”

The last days that Peter mentions must be here because this morning I decided to expand my reach by searching for Christian blogs here on WordPress. In the search bar I simply typed in “Christian” thinking I would find a string of Christian based blogs that I could reach out to and follow…

That’s not exactly what happened.

Here’s what did happen and in all honesty it made me sad and also fearful of what the world is coming to.

Now I should note that yes, I found true Christian blogs and that was nice to see but here are some examples of what was mixed into my search.

Titles such as –

  • Not Much Evidence For A Historical Jesus.
  • Personal View: Why I Don’t Believe In The God Of Evangelicals And Fundamentalists.
  • Most Christian Women have Poor Sex Life…Behave Like “Dead Bodies” In Bed – Bishop Dag Heward Mills.
  • Reasons I Don’t Like To Call Myself A Christian.
  • I Am Not A Christian

So I decided to be fair in this experiment and in the search bar I typed in “atheist”

*Warning: It doesn’t get much better from here on in*

  • Good God! (don’t you wish there was one?)
  • The Spiritual Quest Of The Atheist, In Six Questions
  • Everyone Is Actually An Atheist
  • Advent, My Way #9
  • Sermon By An Atheist

Now the thing is, just like when I typed in “Christian” and found a lot of atheist blogs, when I typed in “atheist” I found a lot of Christian blogs.

One thing I noticed about the atheist blogs which intrigued me was the fact that atheists seem to know the Bible quite well and even use Bible verses to prove whatever point they are trying to make…I am not saying this about all atheists but I have to question why some atheists are so interested in the Bible when they don’t believe in God.

The only reason as a Christian that I give atheists a remote platform here is because God warned us in the last days this sort of thinking was going to run rampant and it appears to be spreading like a virus doing everything in its power to destroy your faith, question your intelligence and lump you into a preconceived notion that people who believe in God are just “Bible thumpers” trying to cram their ignorant, religious agenda down your throat.

Just like there are plenty of good, honest people out there who believe in God and follow the word of God, I need to be fair to the other side of the coin and say not all atheists are bitter and trying to cram their beliefs (or lack thereof) down the throat of the Christian community. There are plenty of good people out there who don’t believe in God. Some of them are in fact my friends but it is not my job to dictate what path a person should take in their life. That is a very personal thing that only we can figure out for ourselves.

I like to keep things in my life as simple as possible so my suggestion on protecting yourself from this sort of thing is to simply not engage it. If someone does not want to believe in God that is their choice and God gave us free will therefore we need to respect that…on both sides.

I am not interested in debating someone who does not share my spiritual views. It is a waste of time and precious energy that I could be spending on myself and my personal growth as I walk with God.

What I am interested in at this point in my life is finding people who are navigating the same path to God that I am in the hopes that we can lift each other up in our faith. There is strength in numbers so why allow the non-believers (The ones who wish to harm us spiritually) divide and conquer our faith?

It is imperative that we protect our spiritual immune system. There is bitterness and contempt surrounding those of us who want to follow God and the word of God and it’s safe to say that bitterness and contempt is getting stronger and stronger everyday.

Proverbs 3:5-6

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.

Take Care & God Bless ❤

Cavelle

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Scoffers. Protect Yourself.

  1. Thank you Cavelle for following Freedomborn I was blessed by reading your Messages, you have a very good focus and I will look forward to our sharing together on our Blogs.

    I was diagnosed with Bipolar when I was in my Thirties but after many years they found out it was Hashimoto’s Disease a Thyroid disease that was causing my problems which with being treated now, I have been well for many years but yes I remember the Stigma even with the Medical Profession but unlike you in your reasoning, I allowed it to hurt me greatly.

    I was an Atheist for almost 30 years in my head after being deceived as a Teenager that I came from an Ape and Jesus was just made up but He rescued me and showed me much Truth including that it’s impossible for us to have evolved from Animals. I Love to witness to the Hope we have as Christians and do so when I have an opportunity which I ask God to provide and often when shopping that is made available, I just plant the seeds and leave God to do the rest.

    God asks us who will contend with Him against Evil and who will stand up for His Truth, I love that you are doing that too Cavelle God bless you greatly, I’m so Thankful our paths crossed.

    Christian Love and Blessings – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Anne 🙂 ❤ Your story is inspiring and it just proves that it is never too late to turn to God! I am thankful that we have crossed paths as well. Since I have taken my writing in the direction of God, writing has come easier to me than ever before and I think as followers of God we need to stand together and speak our truth now, more than ever. I look forward reading your posts and staying in touch. Much love right back at ya 😉 God Bless ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

